Where did Britain have colonies during the 1700s?

What colonies did England have in the 1700s?

New England colonies included Massachusetts, Maine, Connecticut, and Rhode Island; the Middle Colonies later became the states of New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Delaware; and the Southern Colonies later became the states of Maryland, Virginia, Georgia, and North and South Carolina.

Where did Britain have colonies 1783?

In the 1783 Treaty of Paris, Britain ceded all of its North American territory south of the Great Lakes, except for the two Florida colonies, which were ceded to Spain.

Where did the English establish colonies in the 17th century?

In North America, Newfoundland and Virginia were the first centres of English colonisation. During the 17th century, Maine, Plymouth, New Hampshire, Salem, Massachusetts Bay, New Scotland, Connecticut, New Haven, Maryland, and Rhode Island and Providence were settled.

Where are the 13 colonies?

Over the next century, the English established 13 colonies. They were Virginia, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

How many colonies did the British Empire have?

At its most extensive, the British Empire comprised 57 colonies, dominions, territories or protectorates from Australia, Canada and India to Fiji, Western Samoa and Tonga.

How many colonies did Britain have in 1914?

On every Continent The main ones were Australia, British Guiana, Burma, Canada, Egypt, India (then including what are now Bangladesh, Nepal, and Pakistan), Jamaica, New Zealand, Rhodesia, South Africa and Trinidad.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: Can a US citizen have a UK bank account?