Quick Answer: Are banks closed on Easter Monday in the UK?

Are banks open on Easter Monday in the UK?

If a bank holiday is on a weekend, a ‘substitute’ weekday becomes a bank holiday, normally the following Monday.

Upcoming bank holidays in England and Wales.

3 January Monday New Year’s Day (substitute day)
15 April Friday Good Friday
18 April Monday Easter Monday

Is Easter Monday a bank holiday 2020?

Yes today, Easter Monday, is a bank holiday – although make sure you check with your employer that bank holidays are part of your statutory leave before you take the day off. Once Easter Monday is over, England, Wales and Scotland have five more bank holidays in 2020, while Northern Ireland has six.

Is Easter Monday a bank holiday everywhere?

Who observes Easter Monday as a public holiday? Australia, Egypt, Ireland, Central Europe and the UK all observe Easter Monday as a public holiday. There is an extensive list of over 110 countries that observe Easter Monday as an official holiday.

Is the 28th a bank holiday?

2 August (Monday) – Summer bank holiday. 30 November (Tuesday) – St Andrew’s Day. 27 December (Monday) – Christmas Day (substitute day) 28 December (Tuesday) – Boxing Day (substitute day)

Why is Easter Monday a bank holiday?

Easter Monday occurs after Easter Sunday, which commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief. It is a bank holiday in England, Wales and Northern Ireland but not Scotland.

THIS IS FUN:  You asked: What is the smallest island in the UK?

Is Monday 4th Jan 2021 a bank holiday?

But because this date falls on a Saturday in 2021, the bank holiday will actually be on Monday 4th January. Secondly, there is no Easter Monday bank holiday. Thirdly, the Scottish summer bank holiday differs from that in England and Wales.

Is Easter Monday a bank holiday 2022?

Monday 18th April – Easter Monday. Monday 2nd May – Early May bank holiday. Thursday 2nd June – Spring bank holiday (moved from Monday 30th May) Friday 3rd June – Platinum Jubilee bank holiday (new date)

Do companies get Easter Monday off?

Is Easter Monday a Public Holiday? Easter Monday is not a public holiday. Businesses have normal opening hours. Egg rolling is a popular activity on Easter Monday.