Your question: What three areas did the British take over?

What colonies did Great Britain take over?

By 1670 there were British American colonies in New England, Virginia, and Maryland and settlements in the Bermudas, Honduras, Antigua, Barbados, and Nova Scotia. Jamaica was obtained by conquest in 1655, and the Hudson’s Bay Company established itself in what became northwestern Canada from the 1670s on.

When did Britain take over America?

At the start of the Revolutionary War in 1775, the British Empire included 23 colonies and territories on the North American continent.

British America.

British America and the British West Indies
• Treaty of Utrecht 1713
Treaty of Paris (French and Indian War) 1763
• American Revolutionary War 1775–1783
• Treaty of Paris 1783

How many colonies did Britain have?

At its most extensive, the British Empire comprised 57 colonies, dominions, territories or protectorates from Australia, Canada and India to Fiji, Western Samoa and Tonga.

What did the British bring to America?

In the holds of their ships, the early settlers brought axes, shovels, hammers, nails, other tools, pigs, cows, sheep, goats, seed from English plants, and as many personal belongings as they could afford. They were reasonably well equipped to start a new life in the wilderness.

THIS IS FUN:  How much is the train fare from Bradford to London?