Who was in power in 2008 UK?

Who was government in 2008 UK?

First reshuffle: 24 January 2008 – 3 October 2008

Portfolio Minister
Prime Minister The Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP
First Lord of the Treasury
Minister for the Civil Service
Chancellor of the Exchequer The Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP

Who was the prime minister of England in 2008?

Gordon Brown

The Right Honourable Gordon Brown HonFRSE
Official portrait, c. 2008
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
In office 27 June 2007 – 11 May 2010
Monarch Elizabeth II

What political party was in control in 2008?

The Democratic Party won a majority in both chambers, giving them full control of Congress for the first time since the 103rd Congress in 1993, which was also the last time they controlled the House.

Which party was in power in UK in 2009?

2009 United Kingdom local elections

Leader David Cameron Nick Clegg
Party Conservative Liberal Democrats
Leader since 6 December 2005 18 December 2007
Percentage 38% 28%
Swing 6% 3%

What government was 2008?

25 May – The Bharatiya Janata Party comes to power in Karnataka. In the assembly elections held earlier in the week, BJP win 110 seats.

THIS IS FUN:  Best answer: What caused English colonists to replace indentured servants with African slaves by 1700?

Who was the minister in 2008?

Cabinet ministers

Portfolio Minister Took office
Minister of Home Affairs P. Chidambaram 30 November 2008
Minister of Finance P. Chidambaram 22 May 2004
Manmohan Singh 30 November 2008
Pranab Mukherjee 24 January 2009

Who was the worst prime minister of UK?

The worst prime minister in that survey was judged to be Anthony Eden. In 2004, the University of Leeds and Ipsos Mori conducted an online survey of 258 academics who specialised in 20th-century British history and/or politics.

How many prime ministers has Queen Elizabeth had?

The Queen has had over 170 individuals serve as her realms’ prime ministers throughout her reign, the first new appointment being Dudley Senanayake as Prime Minister of Ceylon and the most recent being Philip Davis as Prime Minister of Bahamas; some of these individuals have served multiple non-consecutive terms in …

Why did Blair resign as prime minister?

As the casualties of the Iraq War mounted, Blair was accused of misleading Parliament, and his popularity dropped dramatically. … On 10 May 2007, during a speech at the Trimdon Labour Club, Blair announced his intention to resign as both Labour Party leader and prime minister.

What party was in in 2008?

Results by province

Party name AB
Conservative Seats: 27
Vote: 64.6
Liberal Seats:
Vote: 11.4

Who controlled the House in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives elections

Leader Nancy Pelosi John Boehner
Party Democratic Republican
Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 2007
Leader’s seat California 8th Ohio 8th
Last election 233 seats, 52.3% 202 seats, 44.3%
THIS IS FUN:  Is it easy to move to Ireland from India?

Who held the Senate in 2008?

2008 United States Senate elections

Leader Harry Reid Mitch McConnell
Party Democratic Republican
Leader’s seat Nevada Kentucky
Seats before 49 49
Seats after 57 41