Who was first prime minister of Northern Ireland?

Who was the second prime minister of Northern Ireland?

John Miller Andrews, CH, PC (Ire) (17 July 1871 – 5 August 1956) was the second Prime Minister of Northern Ireland from 1940 to 1943.

When did Terence O’Neill became prime minister of Northern Ireland?

Terence Marne O’Neill, Baron O’Neill of the Maine, PC (NI) (10 September 1914 – 12 June 1990), was the fourth prime minister of Northern Ireland and leader (1963–1969) of the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP).

Who was Prime Minister of UK?

Who replaced James Craig as Prime Minister in 1940?

James Craig, 1st Viscount Craigavon

The Right Honourable The Viscount Craigavon PC PC (NI) DL
Succeeded by J. M. Andrews
Leader of the Ulster Unionist Party
In office 7 June 1921 – 24 November 1940
Preceded by Sir Edward Carson

Who were B Specials?

The Ulster Special Constabulary (USC; commonly called the “B-Specials” or “B Men”) was a quasi-military reserve special constable police force in Northern Ireland. It was set up in October 1920, shortly before the partition of Ireland.

Does Wales have their own prime minister?

Mark Drakeford of the Welsh Labour Party is the current first minister of Wales. He assumed office on 13 December 2018 as Wales’ fourth First Minister, and the fourth first minister from the Labour Party, succeeding Carwyn Jones.

THIS IS FUN:  Can Best Buy ship to the UK?

Does Ireland have its own prime minister?

The Taoiseach is the prime minister and head of government of Ireland. The office is appointed by the president of Ireland upon the nomination of Dáil Éireann (the lower house of the Oireachtas, Ireland’s national legislature) and must retain the support of a majority in the Dáil to remain in office.

Which Irish president died suddenly in office?

Erskine Hamilton Childers (11 December 1905 – 17 November 1974) was an Irish Fianna Fáil politician who served as the fourth president of Ireland from June 1973 to November 1974. He is the only Irish president to have died in office.

Who is the first woman president of Ireland?

Mary Therese Winifred Robinson (Irish: Máire Mhic Róibín; née Bourke; born 21 May 1944) is an Irish independent politician who served as the seventh president of Ireland from December 1990 to September 1997, becoming the first woman to hold this office.

Who is the greatest Irish person of all time?

Ireland’s Greatest was a 2010 public poll by Raidió Teilifís Éireann (RTÉ) and associated television documentary series broadcast on RTÉ One, where viewers voted to choose the greatest person in the history of Ireland. The concept was based on the BBC series 100 Greatest Britons. The winner was John Hume.