What were the 5 laws passed by the British government?

What were the 5 Intolerable Acts?

The four acts were the Boston Port Act, the Massachusetts Government Act, the Administration of Justice Act, and the Quartering Act. The Quebec Act of 1774 is sometimes included as one of the Coercive Acts, although it was not related to the Boston Tea Party.

What was the fifth Act passed by the British?

A fifth act, the Quebec Act, enlarged the boundaries of what was then the Province of Quebec notably Southwest into the Ohio Country and other future mid-western states, and instituted reforms generally favorable to the French Catholic inhabitants of the region.

What acts did Britain pass in 1763?

British Parliament passed the Stamp Act to help replenish their finances after the costly Seven Years’ War with France. Part of the revenue from the Stamp Act would be used to maintain several regiments of British soldiers in North America to maintain peace between Native Americans and the colonists.

What law was passed to make the colonists obey Great Britain?

The declaration stated that the Parliament’s authority was the same in America as in Britain and asserted Parliament’s authority to pass laws that were binding on the American colonies.

Declaratory Act.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: What do the British call high school?
Commencement 18 March 1766
Other legislation
Repealed by Statute Law Revision Act 1964
Status: Repealed

What was the Sugar Act Ducksters?

Parliament passed the Sugar Act, which was a tax on sugar, wine, indigo (a type of color dye) and molasses. The last was very important to New England merchants, since they bought molasses to make rum to sell to other colonies including the French, Dutch, and Spanish. … The colonial leaders did not want that to happen.

What were the 4 coercive acts quizlet?

What were the four Acts that made up the Coercive Acts? … The Boston Port Act, the Massachusetts Government Act, the Justice Act and the Quartering Act. You just studied 22 terms!

What were the 5 Intolerable Acts and what did they do?

The Five Acts

  • Boston Port Act. The Boston Port Act was the first Intolerable Act passed. …
  • Massachusetts Government Act. This act changed the government of the colony of Massachusetts. …
  • Administration of Justice Act. …
  • Quartering Act. …
  • Quebec Act.

What type of laws were passed by the British Parliament and how were they enforced?

After the Boston Tea Party, the British Parliament decided to punish the colonists by passing some new laws that became known as the Intolerable Acts. They were called this because they were extremely harsh, and colonists could not tolerate them. One of these laws was the Boston Port Act. … To take away or cancel law.

What was Sugar Act?

Sugar Act, also called Plantation Act or Revenue Act, (1764), in U.S. colonial history, British legislation aimed at ending the smuggling trade in sugar and molasses from the French and Dutch West Indies and at providing increased revenues to fund enlarged British Empire responsibilities following the French and Indian …

THIS IS FUN:  How does money work in Ireland?

What was the Boston Port Bill Act?

On March 25, 1774, British Parliament passes the Boston Port Act, closing the port of Boston and demanding that the city’s residents pay for the nearly $1 million worth (in today’s money) of tea dumped into Boston Harbor during the Boston Tea Party of December 16, 1773.

What was the Quartering Act?

The Quartering Act of 1765 required the colonies to house British soldiers in barracks provided by the colonies. If the barracks were too small to house all the soldiers, then localities were to accommodate the soldiers in local inns, livery stables, ale houses, victualling houses and the houses of sellers of wine.