What does S4 mean in Scotland?

What age is P4 in Scotland?

Stages of compulsory education

Scotland Age at start of school year England and Wales
P4 7-8 Year 4
P5 8-9 Year 5
P6 9-10 Year 6
P7 10-11 Year 7

What is S5 in Scotland?

Fifth Year (S5) Ages 15–16 or 16–17.

How many subjects do you take in S4 Scotland?

S4 must choose 5 courses and school study. S5 must choose a minimum of 4 courses or 3 AH courses and school study.

How old is fourth year?

Year / Grade Placement

Age UK Years US/International Grades
8 – 9 Year 4 3rd Grade
9 – 10 Year 5 4th Grade
10 – 11 Year 6 5th Grade
11 – 12 Year 7 6th Grade

What is S4 in England?

Fourth year, also known as S4, is the fourth year of schooling in Scottish, Venezuelan, Ecuadorian, Colombian, and other Latin American countries secondary schools, and is roughly equivalent to Year 11 in England and Wales and Year 12 (Sixth Form) in Northern Ireland.

What level is P4?

Scottish school year groups

Age during school year England and Wales: National Curriculum (plus Foundation Phase in Wales) Scotland: Curriculum for Excellence
8 Year 3 P4 (First level)
9 Year 4 P5 (Second level)
10 Year 5 P6 (Second level)
11-12 Year 6 P7 (Second level)
THIS IS FUN:  What airlines fly from Newcastle to London?

What is 7th grade in Scotland?

Seventh grade (or grade seven), equivalent to Year 8 in England and Wales, and S2 in Scotland, is a year or level of education in many nations around the world. The seventh grade is the eighth school year, the second year of middle school and comes after 6th grade or elementary school.

What are highers called now?

Both are normally referred to simply as “Highers”. The modern Higher is Level 6 on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework.

Higher (Scottish)

Year started 1888
Fee Free

What is KS3 in Scotland?

Third Level is a phase of education in Scotland, generally for pupils aged 11 to 15, in their first three years of secondary school.

What is a NAT 4?

The National 4 qualification is the equivalent of a general in a Standard Grade – or, to go back further, it is designed for students who may have had a limited chance of success in an O Grade. The N4 does not involve formal exams at the end of the course – these courses rely on continuous assessment.

What happens if you fail Nat 5?

Yes, if you get a No Award Result at National level 5 or a Fail at National 4 then you can resit your exams to get a pass. You only have to retake the parts of the course that you didn’t pass, although if you want to improve your overall grade you can retake the whole year’s study.